What to Do When You Don’t Know What to Do

What do you do, when you don’t know what to do?

This question seems to find me suddenly and inexplicably when in a single, solitary moment, I realize that maybe my path isn’t exactly what I had originally foreseen it as. This moment normally comes after two different events that I hadn’t realized could have altered my momentarily solid mindset.

  1. I am suddenly filled with positive feelings for one particular niche of mine.

This usually occurs after I listen to a professional talking about the field that they’re in/their career, and I am overcome with excitement because what they’re talking about is usually a career that I can see myself in. Once the excitement fades, though, realization hits. Holy shit, this diverges from the path I had just formally set up for myself. SOS. Help. What do I do now?

2. I am directly questioned on whether or not the path I’m on is the right one.

Suddenly, it’s all wrong. I’m wrong, the path is wrong, everyone else around me is wrong, when really I’m just projecting my anger because realizing that maybe where you’re heading isn’t where you’re meant to go is absolutely, intensely terrifying.

Either way, the point is, that I have found myself in that rut once again. Torn between years of constant back n’ forth between people who want the best for me, and what I want for myself, has led me to the point of unsureness; and it has caused me to reach a new enlightenment in my life.

What do you do when you don’t know what to do?

Well, it’s actually quite cheesy and seemingly too simple: just live.

Sometimes as human beings we get so focused on the future and what everyone else is saying and telling us to do, and what we should do with our lives, that we forget what we really want for ourselves — and sometimes by this point, our minds are so dispersed between many different paths, that we suddenly feel lost; but what if you’re not actually lost, you’re just a wanderer?

One Pinterest quote that I have seen time and time again is, “All those who wander are not lost”; and while beforehand, I would gaze over this with a cynical chuckle, I now understand why it’s so meaningful.

Why do we always need a set plan? What’s wrong with letting life take you by the hand, and what’s wrong with just going with flow? Especially when you don’t know what to do.

Because why stress out even more about something you should take the time to enjoy?

Discovering your niche, what you’re good at, what you love, is so incredibly important to living a happy and personally successful future; and let’s be honest, besides being financially stable, isn’t being happy and feeling proud of your accomplishments the most important part of your personal life?

Yeah, yeah, yeah, people, your professionals, your parents, and even your friends, may disagree. They may push you towards a path of guaranteed stability, but let’s be honest once more, what is truly guaranteed in life? Life itself is not guaranteed, so why are we, as humans, so inclined to take it for granted?

So, what do you do when you don’t know what to do?

You live.

 

Leave a Reply

