To: You, From: You

This past Sunday I went on a run.

Now, you’re either reacting two ways to that sentence:

  1. Lol, why did you do that to yourself?
  2. Wow, good for you, girl! How was it? How far did you go?

To answer your questions:

  1. Lol I honestly don’t know. I felt like death after.
  2. Lol don’t think too much of me, I went a mile, and only half of it consisted of running.

Before Sunday, I can’t remember the last time I worked out. Coming from someone who works out almost everyday in the summer, this is actually quite painful. As much as I would like to dedicate more time to my fitness, I follow up with the question: what time?

I am saying these things because I know that somewhere out there, someone else, probably many of you, are relating to my struggles. We have all fallen victim to the: I have officially taken on so much in my life that I don’t have time for myself.

If you are one of these people, then I implore you to continue reading (so that I understand that more people can sympathize with my tribulations).

It is clear that we are those people who are great schedulers, until it comes to ourselves.

I have one day a week that I feel little stress (not none, but little), and that day is Saturday; and even as of recent it feels as if my Saturdays are being consumed with little obligations that build into big obligations.

What happens when you become a person who, instead of living for the weekend, has become a person who cannot wait until your head lays down on your pillow, and you’re finally able to drift away into a deep slumber.

Sleep has become my award, instead of binging Netflix, or even reading a book for pleasure (not one that has already been devoted to school work). What even is a book that I read for pleasure? The last time I touched a book out of want instead of obligation was last summer. Nearly a year ago. A YEAR.

As many of you probably understand this pain (whether that means running at any time of day you want, or picking up an Xbox controller), you probably also understand the power of dreaming about the future.

Planning future vacations, thinking about the days when you aren’t overloaded with working, BEING BORED?! (What’s it like to be bored, because I’m pretty sure the last time I was bored I didn’t know what to do with myself and ended up staring at the ceiling). What else can we do to escape this monotony?

I have brainstormed a few things that, while we wait for the day that we can enjoy without any sense of anxiety, we can take the time to participate in now with the limited amount of time we have, and contribute to our mental and physical health.

  1. Buy little things for ourselves: Unless you’re working a full time job (which if you’re reading this and you are, bless your soul), you’re probably like me and are a student, and with being a student comes the awesome concept of being broke. By being broke, you, as well as I, both understand how precious money is. In fact, we can both probably admit that our money mainly goes towards food. In fact yeah. All my money goes towards food. WITH THAT BEING SAID…we should take the time to buy things for ourselves every once in awhile. Whether that being some chocolate, or a new pair of shoes, we all need a moment to “Treat YoSelf”.
  2. Journal: Although “writing in your diary” seems rather childish, it’s not. In fact, journaling has been proven to positively impact your mental and physical well-being. In essence: it’s a stress reliever. So whether that be writing down the details of your day, or doodling, journaling is actually quite lovely for the body and the soul.
  3. Going for a walk or run: Like I mentioned before, I don’t even have time for a run in my daily routine. Thankfully, though, to make up for it I have to walk to all my classes and meetings everyday. Everyday I walk at least 3-10 miles, depending on how busy I am. For some individuals though, they don’t have the luxury of being on a campus that requires you to participate in a little physical activity. For you, taking a moment to take a walk is probably really beneficial. When I’m at home, I particularly enjoy taking my dogs on a walk around my block. It only takes 15-20 minutes, and allows me to feel physically active without having to put in a ton of time. Plus, if it’s nice out, the sun will be good for that extra boost of that Vitamin D!
  4. Talking to a friend: There’s no better stress reliever than talking through our day-to-day struggles with a loved one. Whether that be a significant other or a family member, we all know that this tip speaks for itself (literally).
  5. Creating to-do lists: Just so that we can cross everything off of them later (:
  6. Planning a future vacation with friends &/or family: There’s nothing better than avoiding your responsibilities to plan a fun-filled vacation with your friends. This not only gives you something to look forward to, but reminds you that all of your hard work will pay off!
  7. Reminding yourself that you can’t do everything in one day: It’s okay to take a moment to eat. It’s okay to take a moment (for 5-10 hours) to sleep. You are only human, and there’s only so much you can do in one day; and if anyone expects otherwise, then you can politely tell them to kiss your ass. Don’t forget that you are important too, as hard as that may be at times!

If you have other little tips on things you do for yourself throughout your busy schedule, please feel free to comment or share with your fellow readers! & for those still getting through the end of this semester: we may be on the brink of a mental breakdown, but at least we’ve made it this far. Treat YoSelf.

 

Leave a Reply

