5 Albums You Should Check Out Now

I love music. From rap to country to electronic, I’ll give almost anything a shot.

No, I am no music buff. I can’t give you a review of an album with fancy terms and sentences that make you go WOW, she really knows what she’s talking about, she must really understand music and every single term to use when regarding any instrument or vocal technique. Nope.

What I can give you, though, is a list of five albums I believe that you, as a fellow music lover, should check out.

These are the five albums that I have jammed to this summer, that have been on almost all of my Spotify & iTunes playlists. These are the albums that when I don’t know what else to listen to, I go back to one of these.

1 | AM – Arctic Monkeys

I don’t know why, but before I listened to AM, I did not like Arctic Monkeys. I considered them a “hipster fad”, and for years never gave them a chance.

Then one day, while cruising with some friends, R U Mine? started playing through the speakers. I’ve always been a fan of fast paced beats, sick guitar strumming, and some damn good drum playing. R U Mine? has all of that – and I was captivated instantly.

The next moment I had to myself in my car, I pulled up AM on Spotify. I instantly fell in love. AM has everything I love about music; and Alex Turner’s voice is something so distinct, so unique, and perfectly embodies the music of the band. This has quickly become one of my all time favorite albums.

Favorites: R U Mine?, Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?, Do I Wanna Know?, Knee Socks

2 | 1989 – Taylor Swift

I wasn’t a huge fan of Taylor – until 1989.

I always considered her to be commercialized with an inconsistent sound and a fake persona – yeah, I was a little harsh.

1989 completely changed how I view Swift. Every song is so cleverly written with Swift’s obvious personal touches. And not only that, but the sound is so, her. It’s catchy, but not commercialized, despite Swift’s commercial success. It is obvious that Swift has finally found HER sound.

You can definitely relate to at least one, if not almost all, of the songs on the album. Taylor gives you a look into her heart without making it cheesy or cliche. I am totally, head-over-heels, for this album.

Favorites: Wildest Dreams, I Know Places, Style, Bad Blood, Blank Space

3 | PARTYNEXTDOOR – PARTYNEXTDOOR

Basically the perfect combo of Drake & The Weeknd, PND is about to be the next big name in music. His sound is unique, and totally different from anything the big names are releasing right now.

PND’s self-titled album is the only album by his I have listened to thus far, but you best believe that I will soon be jamming out to his next, and newest, album here soon.

Listening to this album is a must, as his songs are perfect for any of your playlists.

Favorites: Make A Mil, Wus Good/Curious, Break From Toronto, Right Now

4 | Folie à Deux – Fall Out Boy

I was a little weary of venturing from FOB’s newest albums and their biggest hits. I am a huge, like they’re my favorite band of all time, fan of FOB; but I knew that I couldn’t have that opinion if I didn’t venture into their albums from the past.

I had also read mixed reviews about Folie à Deux and Infinity on High (another album of their’s that I am completely in love with), so I was apprehensive about listening to the album.

Thank God I put those fears aside.

Folie à Deux is amazing. Even if it isn’t one their most shining moments, to me Folie à Deux is perfect.

The lyrics of each song perfectly embody a specific topic/theme/feeling, which range from the arrogance our generation has produced, to the hardships of fame the bandmates themselves have battled.

If you’re looking for an album to jam to on a long car ride, then look no further.

Favorites: I Don’t Care, Headfirst Slide Into Cooperstown On A Bad Bet, [What A Catch, Donnie], 20 Dollar Nose Bleed, America’s Suitehearts

5 | Pure Heroine – Lorde

Honestly, if you haven’t listened to this album yet, then you are so missing out.

Lorde slays with her unique voice, song lyrics, and instrumentals that base & complete each song. Everything is crafted to perfection, as Lorde sings about her new found fame, and the error of the world & in particular with her generation. She also stays grounded though, by making references to her life at home with her friends and their adventures together.

Pure Heroine is hands down one of the best modern albums that has come out in the past few years. Lorde is truly a genius.

Favorites: White Teeth Teens, Glory and Gore, Tennis Court, Buzzcut Season 

Leave a Reply

