The Awkward First Post

The awkward first post. How to start this new “thing”. Just like starting any new “thing”, that “thing” needs an initial start. So I guess this is mine. Confronting the awkward new start head on – I mean, is there any other way to do it? I guess this is a skill that I have recently been taught. Coming to college, leaving a town in which everyone knew each other from middle school on, I was thrown into the new world that is Ohio University. Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t have had it any other way, but I quickly learned the skill of throwing myself into an environment, a new environment. After all, I wasn’t the only one starting a new part of my life. Anyone taking the leap of attending college, especially a college away from home, is starting a completely new part of their life – a continuation to what they already know. A fresh “start”.

College is where we get to leave the days of high school behind. For some (like myself), this is (was, and honestly still is) awesome news. I know many can relate when I say that high school was NOT the “best years of my life”. In fact, they were some of the worst; but I learned. Then I took what I learned, about myself, about others, and applied it to my new life here at OU. For others, though, leaving behind what they knew for so long can be quite traumatizing. Even for some who are (were) masters of conquering the fear of change, have become quite rattled. New friends, a new school – they are now forced to start something new; and because of this fear, they are missing out on what could possibly be the best years of their life.

Don’t miss out on life because of fear. Life is supposed to be enjoyed. Face these new changes, your new environment, with a sense of adventure; because life is the greatest adventure one will ever own.

Until next time – xoxo

One thought on “The Awkward First Post

Leave a Reply

